MS Poker Home Page

Raising for Fun while Fundraising

It was another great year at the MS Poker Tournament. Thanks to all of our great players and donors, and some help from the top winners, we had one of our most successful fundraising years in a while. Even with only three tables of players, we were able to raise over $3400 for the National MS Society. The event was lots of fun, and as usual, it was awesome seeing everybody again for this annual event.

A quick thank you to everyone who helped make this year's tournament a success. Thank you to our volunteer dealers, David, Lee, and Chris. Thank you to our food runners, Mike, Laurie, Matthew, and Rachel. And thank you to our great food sponsors:


It still amazes me every year when we see all of our return players. We had a few players who haven't been here in a while along with our usual group who doesn't miss an event. We had four first timers as well, getting their first taste of the fun. Thanks to all who came from near and far to join the festivities. We may have to rename the tournament to the MS Poker ReUnion soon.

Didn't make it to the tournament this spring, but still want to help out? Please visit our on-line DONATION PAGE!

Tournament Highlights and Results

On to the tournament summary and highlights. Like usual, the poker gods make some interesting things happen. The random seat assignments resulted in some conservative tables, and some not-so conservative tables. Table 1 highlighted the early play of the tournament - lighting up the All-In lamp frequently, and generating a lot of excitement. Gabe decided to give a run at the all-time rebuy record, (but Drew's feat (7) still reigns). Regardless, Table 1 definitely took the lead in terms of chips at the table by the first break.

Table 1 All In

Tables 2 and 3 were having fun too!

Whole Room Panoramic

Table 2

Table 3

Following our dinner break, it was time to settle down and play some real poker. However, the lure of the fish trophy was strong, and three players quickly took aim at the trophy, as Sandy and Gabe exited together. (Gabe won the first ever "fish tie-breaker" due to rebuys). Congrats?

First Out

Final Table and Results

By 5:30, the cash game was in full swing and we were down to two tables, and by 7pm, we had our final table. The final table featured four returning champions and one first time player, and one very hopeful host. The cards were in my favor early this year, during the final table, as several nice hands resulted in some quick knockouts. By the time the bubble popped on Dee, I had amassed quite a chip lead, and was receiving constant taunts from Dan about my chances of (finally) winning the tournament.

Final Table

Final Three - Look at all those chips I have!

Standing in my way was the 2016 champion, Jeff, and the perennial top three finisher, Dan. Play slowed down a bit, however, after a few missed attempts at knock-outs, we all had even stacks. Dan would be the first to exit the top three, leaving Jeff with a very healthy stack, and me trying to crawl back to the top. Heads up started well, with a handful of hands going my way, but ultimately, I fell victim to a high pair that was trumped by a terrible flop - leaving Jeff with all of the chips and his third trophy in as many years.

3rd PlaceDan Gaies
2nd PlaceAdam Hartman

Congratulations to the 2018 MS Poker Champion: Jeff Sauder

2018 Champion

Did you miss the 2018 MS Poker Tournament, but still want to get in on the action? Want to help fight MS, but need to spend some quality time with the family? Well, try our not-so-new family friendly fundraiser: The MS Ice-Cream-A-Thon! Registration is OPEN for the 2018 Rockville MS Ice-Cream-A-Thon - Sunday September 9th - Click HERE for more info!

Hall Of Champions

2018 Main Event Champion
Jeff Sauder
2017 Main Event Champion
John Dye
2016 Main Event Champion
Jeff Sauder
2015 Main Event Champion
Cindy Albert
2014 Main Event Champion
Mike Bradecamp
2013 Main Event Champion
Mark Levengard
2011 Invitational Champion
Cindy Albert
2010 Invitational Champion
Steven Blomberg
2010 Main Event Champion
Bill Flanigan
2009 Invitational Champion
Dee Weiss
2009 Main Event Champion
Jack Levengard
2008 Invitational Champion
Bill Flanigan
2008 Main Event Champion
Scott Maddock
2007 Invitational Champion
Drew Roberts
2007 Main Event Champion
Russell Shiflett
2006 Main Event Champion
Scott Maddock
2005 Invitational Champion
Howard Walsh
2005 Main Event Champion
Ernie O'Green
2004 Main Event Champion
Eric Gold

If you are jealous of those final table players, and want to get your hands on some MS Poker T-Shirts or Hats, I have loaded all of the most popular designs into ZAZZLE, where you can order your own shirt. All proceeds from those sales will be donated to the National MS Society (about 20% of the sales price). Just Check it out Below - or go to zazzle and search: MSPOKERTOURNAMENT

For a complete listing of MS Poker Tournament Rules, click HERE

The Organizer and Sponsors of this event do not condone gaming for purposes other than entertainment. Gambling is illegal in Maryland and Montgomery County (well, except for the state sponsored race track, lottery, casinos...but I digress)

**As the MS Poker Tournament is purely for entertainment, the participants are not obligated to donate any money during the fundraiser, however, your generosity will be greatly apprecitated. Previous donors may receive priority seating at the tournament.